My legs ache ~TJ142

As you know I am creeping back from adding half a stone in weight and no exercise for a period of some weeks. Steve and I decided it would be best to start slowly and build back up to where I was rather than go crazy and try to recoup all the gains/losses in a week!

The plan was to aim for 2 gym sessions a week and two walks/runs/ralks a week, strength stuff to be added later, nutrition to be improved straight away. I have to say that the improved nutrition has solved my resurgent IBS problem – I won’t give you the horrific details unless you ask very nicely  ðŸ˜€

run - 2013-10-22_095850

So far so good, more or less to plan until Mum got ill and had to help out on Friday evening, Saturday and Sunday, I managed to lead walking group on Saturday but everything else went out the window! Such is life.

Tonight I had the opportunity to go to the gym for about an hour (including changing time), off I toddle, get changed and jump on the treadmill. Gym for me at the moment is ten minutes treadmill and twenty minutes rower. I am still scared of the treadmill, so did a minute at 3 kmh, then 1 at 5 kmh, then 1 at 6 kmh (all hands off equipment – a big deal for me) followed by 7 at 5 kmh.

Onto the rower, I have been doing a variety of different hiit patterns on the rowing machine, tonight was a full on session, I was feeling good, so wanted to push a bit especially as I had missed three sessions at weekend.

rowing

 

3 minute warm up then a full 15 minutes of 30 second intervals – high/low. High was from 28 spm to 45 spm and low was as slow as 20 spm, the biggest difficulty I had was ignoring the pace of the two ladies either side of me, I find it very easy to try and match other people’s pace. I had to sit and rest for a full two minutes afterwards as my legs were like jelly and now, 5 hours later, they ache like crazy.

achy legs

All my fault for not continuing with the moderation theme, and now those pesky nanobots will be back, but this has been the pattern of my weight loss and fitness gains for the last year, exercise, weight gain (while repairs are going on) weight loss for a few days then stabilisation. I’m good all in the right general direction. I know what to do, how to do it and I just need to keep on doing it. As Steve has said from the start:

It’s simple but not easy!

Leave a Reply

