A major breakthrough ~TJ121

Anyone who knows me will know my terror of treadmills, following a hospital test which caused an angina attack!

So Steve does his magic drip drip drip technique and some while back I actually walked on one, the lady at the gym was amazing – I explained my fear and she stood next to me, chatting for a full five minutes as I walked on the flat, slow, treadmill. My knuckles were pure white, I was attached to a ‘deadman’s brake’. I got off feeling terrible, headache, stiff shoulders and fingers from gripping so hard.

Gradually over time I have gotten to a point where I can walk quite quickly, without hanging on, for up to half an hour.

Tonight – for the first time ever, I RAN on the treadmill, not mega fast, but without holding on and for 5 whole minutes. It felt very odd, completely different from ‘real’ running. It was not an experience which I enjoyed (except the victory over my fear) and not one I look forward to doing again.

I have been very down recently due to many things in my life and have missed exercising for a whole week, but my little stint at the gym has made me feel alive again – I’m back!

Leave a Reply

