The beach experience ~TJ105

So, yesterday was to be a day for me to sort out my head, do some training and so on. Love the countryside and woods etc., but fancied a change so I took myself off to my local old-fashioned seaside village. There is a proper level crossing, with a nice man in the booth who often hangs out the window for a chat!

The level crossing - cool

The level crossing – cool

There are toilets, a restaurant, a seaside shop, a pub, a yacht club, a lifeboat station (not RNLI) and several churches in the village, it is decidedly ‘quaint’ and one of my favourite places to visit. The scenery is unspoilt and varies from sandy beaches, to rocks and a sort of marshland.

This beach has it all

This beach has it all

Above is the marshy type sand where the seabirds seem to gather in numbers, I assume the huge rocks have been placed there by man as a sea defence, the sea comes all the way in.

Food for the soul sea and country melding together

Food for the soul sea and country melding together

The intermediate beach, shale, the marshy bit in the background.

Pure sand and man-made sea defences, just around the headland is a village called St Ishmaels

Pure sand and man made sea defences, just around the headland is a village called St Ishmaels

Then the sandy part of the beach, the sand is not ‘sand’ coloured, it is more of a cream colour. In places quite boggy and easy to sink into. There are cockle beds with fishing rights given to some families for generations back.

For those interested the history of Ferryside can be found here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferryside

My day was split into two parts, the first a ralk session, and I had initially to run into the wind, I met a fellow runner and he said it was lovely when you turned around and the wind was behind you! There was no set programme for the ralk, just do what felt right, avoid injury and enjoy. I did about 2.5 miles like this in around 50 minutes or so. Running on sand, even hard packed wet sand, is very different from woods and tarmac!

The second half of my day was more to just enjoy being in the open, the sea ‘breeze’ – more like a force nine gale!

Wind in the hair

Wind in the hair

Such a good look 🙂

The effects of the wind - on my hair and clothes and the sand - it almost looks like ripples in the sea.

The effects of the wind – on my hair and clothes and the sand – it almost looks like ripples in the sea.

I love the ripple effect on the sand, very decptive, tried loads of times to get a shadow image of my wild hair – not very successfully, but not that bad.

So I strolled around the beach, took photos, sat and watched the water, listened to the wind, collected some stones and generally felt refreshed and at one with the owrld.

Found a very nice souvenir of the day

My 'name ' stone'

My ‘name ‘ stone’

A tiny stone with my initial on.

All in all a lovely day, dry, windy, raw nature, walked and/or ran for five miles.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The beach experience ~TJ105

Leave a Reply

