Training ~TJ102

training-01

Sometimes it all comes together. Sometimes it seems a never ending linked series of life’s conspiracies will prevent even part of what you intended to do to be done. Then sometimes there is a window of opportunity to put one over on the universe!

I think it is 90% “preparation, perseverance and good intention” 10% good fortune. So if your schedule has gone to pot  – take your workout kit with you just in case there is a sneaky opportunity.

I knew there would be an opportunity to use the picture I saw. Even if the link to training is a little tenuous. I really have no idea if the image is faked but I like to think it was a sincere outpouring of emotion from the dog or their owner. I do know that many years ago a young father while gardening found a book on the garden path. It was a book his mother had given to his young wife – the best selling book of all time second to the bible apparently. Its message to mothers is that “you know more than you think you do.”

When the young Dad asked how or why the book had ended up on the garden path – a hefty toss your the upstairs window – she replied that “she didn’t need his help! ( Benjamin SpockThe Common Sense Book of Baby and Child Care )

Training recently has been extra difficult due to family pressures, but suddenly this week I could run on two consecutive nights. 🙂

So last night I go to my favourite place to run – Mynydd Mawr – dark, unlit, woods. I was scared stiff and only lasted about 14 minutes.

Tonight I got to run at 5 pm on the rugby pitch outside my office, my legs turned to lead, there was just no energy in my body, I had been really looking forward to an hours run on the flat, weather was good, ground soft. I simply did not have the energy to run fast or far.

Strength exercises needed I think!

With hindsight – all that matters is getting out there – if the prospect of the workout helps get through the working day and be more productive then it’s a bonus.

One thought on “Training ~TJ102

  1. keeping sight of the overall plan is what is important – is it just for a PB in an event – it is be be healthier – to lose weight – to reduce the medication required – keep sight of the big picture and the training plan creates itself.

    You need to slightly less than the overoptimistic “overzealous drill sergeant in one’s head” – and slightly more dedicated than a version of you that might wonder “why you bother at all” and has a tendency to be stopped by the smallest obstacle or opinion of others!

Leave a Reply

