Body Image and Dress Sizes

Me after the epic first 2 k row - real sweat and effort, not a glam pic!

the epic first 2 k row

New purple and red hair June 2013

New purple and red hair June 2013

After my first ever 10K

After my first ever 10K

Body Image and Dress Sizes

Body Image and Dress Sizes

Lots of things can be said about the pictures that Steve and I have been discussing. many think that body image issues are shallow, driven by society and advertising in particular. Wherever they come from they can lead to serious mental illness and conditions such as anorexia. Conversely there is a growing movement of ‘fat is beautiful’ , whilst I agree that everyone has a choice to be the shape and size (given skeletal and gender constraints) that they wish to be it is not a good thing to promote ANY unhealthy size/shape, be that over or under weight.

I want to be a size 12 – I don’t know what weight that will be, but I do know what I will look like and feel like at that size because I’ve been there before and it was great! I have also been all the way up to size 32 and that felt really bad.

I find as I am getting smaller, fitter, healthier, the desire lessens somewhat and Steve and I are working on re-motivation techniques to get me there.

3 thoughts on “Body Image and Dress Sizes

Leave a Reply

