My first 10K ~TJ97

Wow I feel great, I am sort of following the rules now, increase by 10% on last weeks workout/s.

Last Sunday was 5.2 miles of ralking (run/walk) so this Sunday needed to be 5.2 plus 0.52 = 5.72 pretty close to 10k. I think might as well do the extra little bit …. …….

My PB for a 5k was 50:05 at Llyn Llech Owain in a Parkrun event.

Today, at Mynydd Mawr, I did 5k in 45:04 (the course is flatter and less stony, about 80% tarmac, very much easier). I ran all the downhill bits and walked as fast as possible in between. There was 1.53 miles of running and 1.61 miles of walking in the 5k. Was feeling good, enjoying myself, very pleased with the time. So off I go for the 10% increase from last week, not much left to do.

I ended up doing 10k and managed to run most of the downhill bits, my end time was 1:37:37 for the 10k I was very very pleased with that. Overall today I have run for a total of 3.01 miles.

Now all I have to do is do it all together without the walking at Llyn Llech Owain!

After my first ever 10K

 

5 thoughts on “My first 10K ~TJ97

  1. I find the extra 10percent hard work, but the week after it’s not a problem because there’s a new 10 percent to worry about!
    Also if it was you who made a donation to my charity fund thank you very much! Julie

  2. The 10% thing is just to avoid folk, who perhaps initially underestimate their capabilities, then getting carried away in a cloud of endorphins and enthusiasm severely OVERestimating their capabilities and needing to then take time off completely to recover or worse injure themselves.

Leave a Reply

