Five miles ~TJ93

I was under strict orders today – no running – at least until I had walked the parkrun 5k, no sprinting, jogging or any form of movement except walking. After the walk I could fartlek away to my heart’s content.

I started a lot later than intended due to a family issue, (Mum’s taxi was required!), the day turned very hot – not my favourite, the last time I did this walk in the heat I got ill. So off I went walking at a steady pace that I felt I could do for the entire 5k. While walking along, bored out of my mind, I thought I know I’ll do 10k instead, then the thought occurred why not do 10 miles? The most I have walked (recorded) was 8.4 miles when my eldest was home from uni and he walked with me to my mothers and back, I stopped loads of times and it took hours (over three).

So I spent a while doing the mental arithmetic, twice round is about 5k (3.14 miles) in fact this route is a deal longer than that at 3.44 miles. so four times round would be 10k at least and 6.88 miles, another twice round would get me to 10.32 miles and a couple of new PB’s. I was going steady, feeling Ok, legs were sore from strength training the night before.

Twice round in a slow time of about an hour, conserving strength to go round another four times, mental maths telling myself I was a third of the way through and after one circuit more I would be halfway, two more and I would be 2/3rds of the way, then I lost the math with five out of six and decided it was just as easy to tell myself only one to go!

Then the oedema struck! My hands started to swell, my fingers were tight, a sign (to me) that my blood pressure was dropping, it was very hot (again for me) I had stupidly not brought a hat or the cool band that I had bought after the last disaster. I felt fine, but that can change very quickly when pressure continues to drop. I drank loads of water. I wear a bladder pack now whenever I do more than a 5k. I could not get blood pressure up with fluids so I had to stop, the car was parked at the end of lap three so instead of going round again I went back to the car. 😦

Will try again soon, as they say you get good runs/walks and bad ones, roll on chilly days I say.

 

One thought on “Five miles ~TJ93

Leave a Reply

