Parkrun PB Smashed by over 5 minutes ~TJ79

Well with all the ‘encouragement’ (non-stop nagging ) of Steve, I decided to revisit the Parkrun. For me it was a perfect day, chilly, overcast with a hint of rain in the air.

I arrived with a few minutes to go, found the back runner explained my strategy and that I would be a lot slower than the field and that I was trying to beat 55 minutes (records from the Race for Life and first Parkrun) and that I would be ralking.

In conjunction with others and the Walking Well Carmarthenshire group a new walking group for people wishing to ease into walking, after injury, illness and lack of activity was scheduled to start an hour after the Parkrun, myself and my fellow volunteers agreed to meet at 10, so I had to be finished by then.

In my head I had planned to run 0.5 miles , then walk til HR had settled around the 140 mark then run again. I forgot that after the start bit there was a long uphill stretch where I knew if I ran for 0.5 mile I would not be able to finish at all let alone in a decent time; then I remembered some advice Steve had given me for training. So I ran pretty quickly, but not as quick as possible for a reasonable distance and then walked quickly at just under running pace for a while til ready to run again.

My digifit app was yelling out the time/distance/HR and pace and I aimed for 14:anything , trying to get a time of around 45/46 minutes.

The last hill (incline to Steve) is a short but steepish climb and at this point the back runner could see I was losing it, he jogged up and chatted to me about my time, pace and that I had loads of time, be careful not to take an injury etc. He got me over the hill by distracting me. We were joined by two ladies who volunteered to take over the baby sitting we chatted about the time again and decided that I should sprint finish which they did with me. Not sure how fast or far that was as I forgot to hit lap button. DOH!

I got a round of applause and a time of ….. Drum Roll………50.05 – perfect and nice and symmetrical too, in case you’re wondering that’s an improvement of 335 seconds on the last time or 335/60 = 5.58 minutes

Thanks for nagging/encouraging me Steve – if you hadn’t I would never have done it!

4 thoughts on “Parkrun PB Smashed by over 5 minutes ~TJ79

Leave a Reply

