My aims ~TJ67

When my son was home from uni we were discussing what I was aiming to achieve with all the healthy eating and exercise. From this very simple question came a torrent of information and different outcomes which I had to try to justify to him (very logical boy).

Firstly – I wanted to improve my health – he liked that

Secondly – I wanted to lose weight – same as first aim according to Mr Logical

Thirdly – I wanted to be fit  – same as 1 and 2 he says

Fourthly – I want to be a size 12 – this completely flummoxed him he had no conception that women’s clothes came in sizes. We discussed men and women’s clothing ie trousers come in a waist size not a generic number, he could not grasp that women’s clothes were graded according to standard measurements.

So being a scientific sort, off he went to investigate, we discovered some startling facts. Each clothing chain decides on its own measurements for sizes and these can be very varied indeed.

Dress Sizes on the high street

Dress Sizes on the high street from an article in the Daily Mail

As you can see there is a two to three inch difference in bust, waist and hip sizes from just these few shops, so my son asks how can you want to be something that simply does not exist in reality?

My turn to be confused, the more I tried to explain, the more confused I became. Eventually I had to concede that he was correct, there is no actual size 12, but I am certain that the vast majority of women in the UK would have an image in their heads of what the shape and proportion of a size 12 was.

So my aims then have changed due to the chat with my son (lasted for an entire evening), health, fitness and no blubber regardless of size.

During the investigations we found this image from http://www.blisstree.com/2011/12/09/beauty-shopping/daily-fail-the-average-british-woman-weights-154-pounds-and-doesnt-like-it-920/ showing five women all weighing 154 pounds (11 stone) – slightly less than I would have thought for me to be size 12 at 5′ 4″.

Five women of varying height all weighing 11 stone

Five women of varying height all weighing 11 stone

Just goes to show that you cannot select a size or a weight and hope to be the shape you want – that is affected by height, body composition and many other factors – over to Steve for geek stuff on body composition, how to improve it, toning, conditioning (whatever that is – makes me think of Bob Martin’s conditioning powders for the dogs coat)

3 thoughts on “My aims ~TJ67

  1. Nice article – well reasoned – aims were not silly – but the difficulty is defining what the size 12 might be – as clearly it varies from brand to brand.

    If you don’t know what a size 12 is you cannot tell if you have reached the goal. So an item, or a series of items (a little too small) might be a better measure, jeans that used to fit for example.

Leave a Reply

