Determination to Succeed ~TJ07

Determination to succeed  – regardless of what life throws at you

Willpower is the often quoted characteristic that you need to succeed in any venture involving giving up, cutting back, changing habits. I think it is actually determination that you need, my willpower disappears in the face of a Snickers attack.

My determination to win whatever the odds is always with me, even if I fall by the wayside once in a while. That determination comes from wanting something very much indeed and from not seeing the changes to your lifestyle as sacrifices but as different ways to do things.

I have not given up chocolate, I have DECIDED not to eat it except on special occasions. I have not given up cakes, cookies, doughnuts, cream or any of the myriad other things which are ‘fattening’. I have DECIDED to eat more unprocessed foods, more fresh and raw fruit and vegetables. I have DECIDED to cook everything from scratch. I DECIDED to listen to Steve (my mentor and guide) and try new things such as salad, porridge, houmous, brown rice, brown pasta.

All these DECISIONS that I made have led me to lose nearly two stone since March this year, weight which is staying off.

During this time many things could have gotten in the way of my plan to succeed, but I DECIDED that they would not. My determination to win has so far carried me through many a drama and will continue to do so.

The most important thing to do is to keep putting one foot in front of the other, continue the journey despite the ups and downs, delays, reversals and whatever else happens keep looking forward to where you want to be  – and you will win through.

This is a snap shot of how I felt at the time.

– – ~ ~ ~ – –
… to see how  the Journey”  began click here …
– – ~ ~ ~ – –

2 thoughts on “Determination to Succeed ~TJ07

  1. I completely agree – I can’t eat this, I can’t eat that attitude of “denial” and “scarcity” is what leads to the inevitable lapse in a menu – I don’t use the d**t word [diet] as it need a change in lifestyle.
    This reminds me of a post I saw which included this “We first make our habits, then our habits make us.” -Poet John Dryden http://tiny.cc/F2F-keystone

  2. Congratulations on wanting to be healthier and putting a process in place that helps you to get there! To me, my health is absolute key in almost everything I do in life. I cook mostly from scratch because I just won’t eat the chemicals in processed and prepared foods. I do think that the over-reliance on prepared and processed foods is one of the most damaging factors in the American diet today. The US was just declared the most unhealthy country among the industrialized, wealthy countries in the world.and it has the second-highest obesity rate in the world (after Mexico took first place recently). And I strongly believe that the most revolutionary act is to grow and cook our own food – that’s where true health is “hidden.” Just my two cents….

Leave a Reply

